NDI Banner Image

Latest News

Latest News

Monday, 10 May, 2010

Nominations Sought by Courage Center for Annual Awards Honoring People With Disabilities

From Philanthropy News Digest: The Minneapolis-based Courage Center, a nonprofit rehabilitation and resource center that assists children and adults experiencing barriers to health and independence, is accepting nominations for three employment-related annual awards — the Jay and Rose Phillips Award, the Phillips Caregiver Award, and the Judd Jacobson Memorial Award.

Courage Center specializes in treating brain injury, spinal cord injury, stroke, chronic pain, autism, and disabilities experienced since birth.

The Jay and Rose Phillips Awards are presented each year to people with disabilities who have achieved outstanding vocational and community success. Three people will be recognized for the award and will receive $2,000 each.

The Phillips Caregiver Award acknowledges and honors a behind-the-scenes caregiver whose dedication, professionalism, and assistance are vital to the successful work and community involvement of a person with a disability. One person will receive a $2,000 cash award.

The Phillips Award winners will be recognized at the 2010 Celebration of Courage on September 11, 2010. The Phillips Awards are made possible by funding from the Jay and Rose Phillips Family Foundation. The deadline for both Phillips awards is June 4, 2010.

Established in 1992, the Jacobson Award recognizes the pursuit or achievement of a business entrepreneurial endeavor by a person with a physical disability or sensory impairment. The award recipient will be honored on September 30, 2010, and will receive a $5,000 cash award to advance his or her business endeavors. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and reside in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, or North or South Dakota. Applicants must demonstrate entrepreneurial skill, financial need, exceptional personal commitment, and have received little or no public recognition for their business endeavor. The application deadline is May 21, 2010.

Visit the Courage Center Web site for complete program information and nomination forms.

Share this post